Pub Day Picks // August 11, 2020

I’m so excited about this pub day. While I only have one book to highlight, I’m very excited about it. So excited that I’ll even be doing a spotlight on it this weekend on Instagram. I love that there are more South Asian authors coming out and this one isn’t one you should sleep on.

Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar

You had me at Neil Gaiman meets Hindu mythology. And if you guessed this was the book I was extremely excited about, you are most definitely right. This book sounds so good and I’m so excited because I received it from Epic Reads over the weekend and I’m so ready to read it. Sadly, it won’t be until next month, but I’ll just stare lovingly at the gorgeous cover until then.

This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be “normal.” But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star’s help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.

Sheetal’s quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family’s champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens–and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all.

Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor.

One thought on “Pub Day Picks // August 11, 2020

  1. This is an awesome cover! After the sheer abundance last week, I’m glad you found one you’re excited about! I’m looking forward to the new John Boyne.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s