13 Highly Anticipated Science Fiction Books of 2021

Yep, I have a sci-fi list too. It’s not as big as my fantasy list, but I think there are some gems in this group that I’ll be getting into. This was a tougher list to create because I love science fiction books, but I haven’t narrowed down what I like from science fiction books. Some of these are hardcore space operas while others are journeys through quantum physics. And of course there are science fantasy stories where it feels like a fantasy, but set on a distant planet.

A small, but mighty list with a lot of stories on here that I cannot wait to sink my teeth into. Same rules apply; these are only new series or standalones being published. I do have some books that are continuations into series (like A Memory Called Empire!), but I’ll share those on pub days when they arrive.

Unconquerable Sun by Kate Elliott

Non-stop action! Space battles! Intrigue! This is the kind of space opera that I love best–but Elliott does it even better.–New York Times bestselling author Ann Leckie New York Times bestselling author Kate Elliott brings us a thrilling new science fiction adventure set in a rich universe full of political intrigue with Unconquerable Sun. GENDER-SWAPPED ALEXANDER THE GREAT ON AN INTERSTELLAR SCALE”

A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers

Of course I couldn’t create a sci-fi list without my favorite author. “In A Psalm for the Wild-Built, Hugo Award-winner Becky Chambers’s delightful new Monk & Robot series gives us hope for the future. Becky Chambers’ new series asks: in a world where people have what they want, does having more matter? Hugo Award-winner Becky Chambers’s delightful new series gives us hope for the future.

Winter’s Orbit by Everina Maxwell

Ancillary Justice meets Red, White & Royal Blue in Everina Maxwell’s exciting debut.” Also, there’s a blurb from Ann Leckie, the author of Ancillary Justice, on the cover. It’s been approved!

The Echo Wife by Sarah Gailey

The Echo Wife is a non-stop thrill ride, perfect for readers of Big Little Lies and enthusiasts of Killing Eve and Westworld­

The Last Watch by JS Dewes

The Expanse meets Game of Thrones in J. S. Dewes’ fast-paced, sf adventure The Last Watch, where a handful of soldiers stand between humanity and annihilation.

Remote Control by Nnedi Okorafor

An alien artifact turns a young girl into Death’s adopted daughter in Remote Control, a thrilling sci-fi tale of community and female empowerment from Nebula and Hugo Award-winner Nnedi Okorafor. She’s the adopted daughter of the Angel of Death. Beware of her. Mind her. Death guards her like one of its own.”

A History of What Comes Next by Sylvain Neuvel

“Showing that truth is stranger than fiction, Sylvain Neuvel weaves a scfi thriller reminiscent of Blake Crouch and Andy Weir, blending a fast moving, darkly satirical look at 1940s rocketry with an exploration of the amorality of progress and the nature of violence in A History of What Comes Next.”

Shards of Earth by Adrian Tchaikovsky

The Arthur C. Clarke award-winning author of Children of Time brings us an extraordinary new space opera about humanity on the brink of extinction, and how one man’s discovery will save or destroy us all.

Persephone Station by Stina Leicht

“Hugo award-nominated author Stina Leicht has created a take on space opera for fans of The Mandalorian and Cowboy Bebop in this high-stakes adventure.”

Victories Greater Than Death by Charlie Jane Anders

“A thrilling adventure set against an intergalactic war with international bestselling author Charlie Jane Anders at the helm in her YA debut—think Star Wars meets Doctor Who, and buckle your seatbelts.”

We Are Satellites by Sarah Pinsker

From award-winning author Sarah Pinsker comes a novel about one family and the technology that divides them.

Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir

A lone astronaut must save the earth from disaster in this incredible new science-based thriller from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Martian.

A Complicated Love Story Set in Space by Shaun David Hutchinson

Black Mirror meets What If It’s Us in this gripping, romantic, and wildly surprising novel about two boys lost in space trying to find their way home—while falling in love—from the critically acclaimed author of We Are the Ants.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s