Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend // Book Review

I am very late to ride the Nevermoor train, but I’m so glad that I did. This was the first modern middle grade book I’ve read that I absolutely adore, want to keep reading, and definitely find out what happens to our intrepid little Crow.

Here’s more about Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow

A cursed girl escapes death and finds herself in a magical world – but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she’s blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks–and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.

But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.

It’s then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city’s most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart – an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests – or she’ll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.

Find it on Amazon | Find it on Bookshop.org

My thoughts

I don’t know how to say this politely, but everyone should definitely check out Nevermoor. It’s a middle grade series with a lot of depth and exciting story to excite you and also themes to keep the adults entertained as well. This was such an incredible journey and to be honest, now a favorite read of mine for the rest of my life. I’m so floored by the magic, the topsy-turvy world, the friendships, and the circumstances of our little Morrigan Crow.

The story follows Morrigan, a cursed child who has already been told she’ll die sooner than later. Because of that, she’s been written off by her family and people don’t really care for her. She also happens to be the cause of a ton of accidents, but none that she caused on her own. Her presence as a cursed child just brings a lot of unfortunate things to happen to good people.

But come bid day, she joins Jupiter in a world that exists right outside her own. Here, in Nevermoor, residents are a little more strange, magic permeates the air, dreams can come true, but so can nightmares. In order for Morrigan to stay in Nevermoor, she must go through a set of trials in order to become a member of the Wunder Society. And she’s at a huge disadvantage because she didn’t even know Nevermoor existed until Jupiter came to whisk her away.

This was such a great story and I can see why so many people loved it. It’s filled with adventure and action, a mysterious villain, and a whole lot of surprises for our little Morrigan Crow. Morrigan is the perfect person for the adventure. She’s off experiencing something completely on her own, she’s finding new friends wherever she goes, and she’s always game to try anything and everything that comes her way. Even if she’s not sure of the outcome, she still dives head first and hopes for the best.

It was interesting to see Morrigan act this way especially know that there’s some cruel people hoping for her demise. I loved seeing that she’s willing to try things even if it means things could definitely go wrong. I also truly loved the other characters in this book. From a giant talking cat who takes care of the hotel to the boy who loves dragons, there’s so many different types of people to love and make a part of your reading so much fun.

I was truly surprised by the end as well. I couldn’t believe that the villain would be as villainous as they turned out to be and the twists were definitely worth the read.

Overall, this was a fantastic middle grade book for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. And while it’s written for middle grade kids, it’s something adults will enjoy as well. It’s probably one of those books that kids read with their parents, or if you’re like me, adults read to find a bit of comfort in their lives.

One thought on “Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend // Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s