Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend // Book Review

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend // Book Review

I am very late to ride the Nevermoor train, but I’m so glad that I did. This was the first modern middle grade book I’ve read that I absolutely adore, want to keep reading, and definitely find out what happens to our intrepid little Crow.

Here’s more about Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow

A cursed girl escapes death and finds herself in a magical world – but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she’s blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks–and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.

But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.

It’s then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city’s most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart – an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests – or she’ll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.

Find it on Amazon | Find it on Bookshop.org

My thoughts

I don’t know how to say this politely, but everyone should definitely check out Nevermoor. It’s a middle grade series with a lot of depth and exciting story to excite you and also themes to keep the adults entertained as well. This was such an incredible journey and to be honest, now a favorite read of mine for the rest of my life. I’m so floored by the magic, the topsy-turvy world, the friendships, and the circumstances of our little Morrigan Crow.

The story follows Morrigan, a cursed child who has already been told she’ll die sooner than later. Because of that, she’s been written off by her family and people don’t really care for her. She also happens to be the cause of a ton of accidents, but none that she caused on her own. Her presence as a cursed child just brings a lot of unfortunate things to happen to good people.

But come bid day, she joins Jupiter in a world that exists right outside her own. Here, in Nevermoor, residents are a little more strange, magic permeates the air, dreams can come true, but so can nightmares. In order for Morrigan to stay in Nevermoor, she must go through a set of trials in order to become a member of the Wunder Society. And she’s at a huge disadvantage because she didn’t even know Nevermoor existed until Jupiter came to whisk her away.

This was such a great story and I can see why so many people loved it. It’s filled with adventure and action, a mysterious villain, and a whole lot of surprises for our little Morrigan Crow. Morrigan is the perfect person for the adventure. She’s off experiencing something completely on her own, she’s finding new friends wherever she goes, and she’s always game to try anything and everything that comes her way. Even if she’s not sure of the outcome, she still dives head first and hopes for the best.

It was interesting to see Morrigan act this way especially know that there’s some cruel people hoping for her demise. I loved seeing that she’s willing to try things even if it means things could definitely go wrong. I also truly loved the other characters in this book. From a giant talking cat who takes care of the hotel to the boy who loves dragons, there’s so many different types of people to love and make a part of your reading so much fun.

I was truly surprised by the end as well. I couldn’t believe that the villain would be as villainous as they turned out to be and the twists were definitely worth the read.

Overall, this was a fantastic middle grade book for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. And while it’s written for middle grade kids, it’s something adults will enjoy as well. It’s probably one of those books that kids read with their parents, or if you’re like me, adults read to find a bit of comfort in their lives.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan // Book Review

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan // Book Review

I may be 20 years too late to be reading this series, but I’m also the type of person who believes books can be read by anyone. I’m so glad I picked up Percy Jackson for the first time ever. It’s slowly becoming my new favorite series and I hope to read more from them in the future. But let’s talk about the first book because this is where it all begins.

Here’s More about The Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse-Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him.

My Thoughts

I don’t read much middle grade, so I’m never sure what to expect. The stories I’ve read in the past are the ones I grew up with (A Wrinkle in Time, The Chronicles of Narnia, Harry Potter), but I was a little too old for these books and so they went unread for very long.

I have to say, I’m impressed. And it’s my own ignorance that I didn’t know how good Percy Jackson was and how I would love this story just as much as I was a teenager reading books. I know these books aren’t necessarily written with me in mind, but I still enjoyed it. This is one of those stories that when you’re a kid, you’ll imagine yourself hoping to be a demigod. You’ll hope that in some way your family was close to a god or goddess and that you carry a tiny bit of that blood in your body.

I absolutely loved the usage of Greek mythology. I’ve been recently learning more about the Greek myths and seeing those bits and pieces played through the story so expertly made me very excited to keep reading. Of course, it’s all the main players like Zeus and Poseidon and Hades, but then there’s the three fates, Medusa, centaurs and satyrs, magical swords, and so much more. It’s rich and immersive and even if you don’t know too much about Greek mythology, you’ll be able to follow along.

I also love that Percy is just a fish out of water. Without any knowledge of who he is or even what god his father is, he kind of jumps in and hopes for the best. I do think things are a bit easy for him, but at the same time the situations he finds himself in are more than what any kid at that age could handle. If anything, Percy feels more mature with a good understanding of what’s happening. He didn’t even seem too freaked out by the fact that he’s a demigod. His friends were also such interesting people with fully developed personalities that differ from Percy’s, so you get some comic relief and the occasional serious talk.

And the adventure they go on was not for the faint of heart. Honestly, I don’t even think I would be okay with some of the situations Percy and his friends find themselves in. I love that their friendship is dynamic and they all bring something to a fight. Where Percy might lack, Annabelle can join in and the other way around.

Overall, this is a fun story filled with friendships, hard journeys, and some very real truths. The twist at the end also made me very excited to see how the rest of the series goes and I’ve already put book 2 on hold at the library. I cannot wait to see what happens to Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

What I’m Reading Wednesdays – The Crowns of Croswald by DE Night

What I’m Reading Wednesdays – The Crowns of Croswald by DE Night

I picked up this book recently because the publisher reached out to me to do a giveaway. I already loved the fact that this indie pub reached out to me with a middle grade read for young fantasy lovers. Also, it takes place at a magical school so you know I’ll read it.

But because I’m doing a giveaway, I always want to read the book I’m giving away before I actually do it. I feel like it’s more authentic to know what you’re about to get into.

Anyway, here’s more about the book

34944590For sixteen years Ivy Lovely has been hidden behind an enchanted boundary that separates the mundane from the magical. When Ivy crosses the border, her powers awaken. Curiosity leads her crashing through a series of adventures at the Halls of Ivy, a school where students learn to master their magical blood and the power of Croswald’s mysterious gems. When Ivy’s magic––and her life––is threatened by the Dark Queen, she scrambles to unearth her history and save Croswald before the truth is swept away forever.

So far, this book has been a fun one. There’s a lot of inspiration from Harry Potter, but the differences are subtle enough to make this an authentic story. I love the idea of quills holding magic power. I love that Ivy is a precocious little girl. So far, it’s been a great little middle read for any young teenager.

I’ll probably finish this book today since the reading isn’t too difficult.

Find The Crowns of Croswald on Amazon.

Harbor Me by Jacqueline Woodson

Harbor Me by Jacqueline Woodson

When the world seems like it’s falling apart everywhere we turn, it’s always good to know that younger generations of people are gaining the same knowledge and understanding of the world. We may not be able to protect our young people from the prejudice and stereotypes and hate that surrounds them, but if we open up the floor for them to speak their truth we might find that what they say actually matters.

Continue reading “Harbor Me by Jacqueline Woodson”